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Paid Sick Leave 

All regular full-time employees shall be entitled to accrue sick leave based on full time equivalent 

service and the hours worked.  Employees shall accrue 12 days of sick leave annually, and sick 

leave can accumulate to a maximum of 120 days.  

 

For regular full-time employees, the pay for a day of sick leave will be compensation at the 

employee’s regular rate of pay for eight hours or for their regularly scheduled hours of work, if 

that number of hours is different than eight.  Sick leave may be used as soon it is accrued even if 

the employee is still on orientation. 

 

Sick leave accruals may be used for the following reasons: 

 

1. Personal illness or injury which renders the employee unable to perform the duties of 

his/her position; 

2. Illness of a member of the employee's immediate family, necessitating the employee to be 

in attendance. Immediate family shall include the following: husband, wife, father, mother, 

son, daughter, step-parent, step-child, foster child, or foster parent;  

3. Medical, dental or optical appointments which cannot be scheduled during non-working 

hours. 

 

After two weeks of illness or other disability, an employee must apply for short-term disability 

coverage.  The difference between short-term disability insurance benefits and the employee’s 

regular salary may be paid as sick leave.  (Short-term disability insurance pays 60% of the salary 

up to an amount set by the insurance policy.)  Iowa County pays the full premium on disability 

coverage. 

 

An employee continues to accrue sick leave time even while on sick leave.   

 

Employees who are unable to report for work because of illness are to notify the Department Head 

before the regular work day begins. Employees who are absent more than three days for 

unconfirmed illness may be required by the Department Head to submit a physician’s statement. 

 

Reporting process 

Anticipated absences should be reported to the employee’s supervisor (or designated 

representative) by the start of the work period if not earlier. Employees with unreported absences 

may be denied pay for work hours missed and be subject to disciplinary action. Employees who 

take Sick Leave should also notify their supervisor of their ability to work their next scheduled 

workday.  
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Pregnancy Leave 

The employee shall comply with the requirements outlined in the FMLA policy. Additionally, 

Iowa law allows pregnant employees up to eight weeks of unpaid, job protected leave even if the 

employee is otherwise ineligible for FMLA leave. Pregnancy leave will run concurrently with any 

applicable FMLA leave. Pregnancy leave must be taken concurrent with any paid leave available 

to the employee.  

 

Jury Duty Leave 

An employee who is required to serve as a juror shall receive his/her wages.  In order to receive 

payment for such duty, the employee must submit a certificate of service and assign jury pay to 

the Employer, excluding travel and meal expense.  When released from jury duty during working 

hours, the employee will report back to work.  

 

Military Leave 
 

Leaves Available 

The County will grant leaves of absence for military service to full-time and part-time regular 

employees in accordance with applicable state and federal law. A full-time or part- time regular 

employee, who is a member of the uniformed services, when ordered by proper authority to serve 

in the uniformed services, shall be granted leave for the period of service. This leave shall be 

without loss of pay for the first thirty (30) calendar days of the leave. You are entitled to one period 

of paid leave for military service per fiscal year. Any amount of military leave taken during any 

part of an employee’s scheduled workday, regardless of the number of hours taken, shall count as 

one day toward the thirty calendar days without loss of pay. Absences required for military service 

that exceed thirty (30) calendar days shall be granted in accordance with the County’s policies on 

vacation, compensatory time or unpaid leave, and with applicable state and federal law. 

 

Reemployment Rights - Eligibility 

Your eligibility for reemployment with the County after you complete military service will be 

determined in accordance with applicable state and federal law. Conditions for reemployment are 

briefly explained as follows: 

 

1. You, or an appropriate officer of the uniformed service in which you serve, must 

give advance written or verbal notice of your service to your immediate supervisor, 

unless military necessity prevents you from giving notice or if it is otherwise 

impossible or unreasonable; 

 

2. The cumulative length of the absence and all previous absences from your 

employment with the County for reason of military service must not exceed five 

years; 

 

3. Your discharge from military service must be for reasons other than dishonorable; 
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and 

 

4. When you return from military service, you must report to work or submit a timely 

application for reemployment according to the following schedule: 

 

For service of less than thirty (30) days you must report to work by the beginning 

of your first regularly scheduled work day that would fall eight hours after you 

return home. 

 

For service of 31 to 180 days you must apply for reemployment within 14 days 

after completing service. 

 

For service of 181 days or more you must apply for reemployment no later than 

ninety (90) days after completing service. 

 

Continuation of Benefits During Military Service 

Employees on leave for military service and any of their dependents entitled to coverage under the 

County’s health insurance plan are entitled to coverage as follows: 

 

1. An employee that leaves employment for less than 31 days is entitled to continued 

health insurance coverage, and will not be required to pay more than what an active 

employee would pay for coverage. 

 

2. An employee that leaves employment for more than 30 days is allowed to elect to 

receive continued coverage under the County’s health insurance plan for up to 18 

months following separation from employment or until the employee’s 

reemployment rights expire, whichever event occurs first. The County may require 

the employee to pay up to 102% of the premium. 

 

Paid Funeral Leave 

Upon request to the Department Head, all regular full-time employees will be allowed five days 

off with pay in the case of death in his or her immediate family. The five days do not have to be 

consecutive, but must be used within 12 months. Immediate family shall include the following: 

husband, wife, father, mother, son, daughter, step-parent, step-child, foster child, or foster parent.   

 

Employees will be allowed three days off in the case of a death of the following extended family: 

son-in-law, daughter-in-law, brother, sister, mother-in-law, father-in-law, grandchild, grandparent, 

brother-in-law, sister-in-law, step-brother, or step-sister.  

Employees will be allowed one day off in the case of a death of the following extended family: 

grandparent-in-law, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, first cousin or guardian.  
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For regular full-time employees, the pay for a day of funeral leave will be compensation at the 

employee’s regular rate of pay for eight hours or for their regularly scheduled hours of work, if 

that number of hours is different than eight.   

 

Family and Medical Leave (FMLA) 

In accordance with the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), Iowa County will grant up to 12 weeks 

unpaid leave annually, based on the previous rolling 12 month period. To be eligible for this leave 

an employee must have worked for Iowa County for one year and worked 1250 hours or more in 

the 12 months preceding the beginning of the leave.  

 

FMLA leave will be granted for the following circumstances:  

 

1. Employee’s serious medical condition that makes the employee unable to perform 

the functions of his/her job. 

2. Birth, adoption or placement of a child within 1 year after birth/adoption/placement. 

3. Caring for a spouse, child or parent, with a serious health condition.  

 

General Provisions 

 

For the purpose of this policy: 

 

“Child” means a son or daughter under 18 years of age, or a child 18 years of age or older who is 

incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability.  An employee’s child is one for 

whom the employee has actual daily responsibility for care and includes a biological, adopted, 

foster or stepchild. 

 

“Parent” does not include parents-in-law. 

 

“Serious Health Condition” means an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition 

that involves: 

 

• Inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care facility including 

any period of incapacity or subsequent treatment in connection with such inpatient 

care; or 

• a period of incapacity that requires absence from work for more than three 

consecutive calendar days AND involves either two or more treatments by a health 

care provider, or at least one treatment by a health care provider plus a regimen of 

continuing treatment; or 

• any period of incapacity due to pregnancy or prenatal care; 

• chronic serious health condition which requires periodic visits for treatment by a 

health care provider, continues over an extended period of time (including periods 

of recurrence) and may cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity.  
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• long-term conditions for which treatment may not be effective but is being 

supervised by a health care provider; or 

• multiple treatments by a health care provider and recovery therefrom for restorative 

surgery after an accident or other injury, or for a condition that would likely result 

in a period of incapacity of more than 3 consecutive days. 

 

“Spouse” means a husband or wife as defined or recognized by the State of Iowa. 

 

The “12-month period” shall be based on a rolling 12 month period measured backward from the 

date an employee uses any Family /Medical Leave. (Example: If an employee takes 4 weeks of 

Family/Medical Leave on May 1, 2009 and 8 weeks of Family/Medical Leave in August 1, 2009 

the employee will not be eligible for Family/Medical Leave again until May 1, 2010 at which time 

he/she will have four weeks. On August 1, 2010 the employee will have an additional 8 weeks. In 

essence, 12 months from the date an employee takes any amount of Family/Medical Leave the 

employee will accrue the same amount of leave as was taken.). 

 

Married Employees   

If the employee’s spouse is also employed by the County, and both are eligible for family medical 

leave, the employee and spouse will be limited to a combined total of 12 weeks of family medical 

leave a year taken for any one or all of the following reasons:  birth of a child or to care for the 

child after birth; placement of adopted or foster child; or to care for a parent with a serious health 

condition.  This limitation does not apply in cases of leave to care for the serious health condition 

of the spouse or child, or because of the employee’s own serious health condition. 

 

How and When Leave May Be Taken  

Family medical leave is taken either in consecutive workweeks, intermittently in separate blocks 

of time, or by reducing the number of days of work per week, or hours per day.  Intermittent or 

reduced schedule leave may be taken when medically necessary to care for an employee’s spouse, 

child, or parent with a serious health condition, or because of an employee’s own serious health 

condition.  “Medically necessary” means that there is a medical need for the leave and that the 

leave can best be accomplished through an intermittent or reduced leave schedule.  The employee 

must provide the County with medical certification of the need for intermittent or reduced schedule 

leave, and must attempt to schedule the intermittent or reduced schedule leave so as not to disrupt 

County operations.  The employee may be transferred temporarily to an alternative position or 

schedule, with equivalent pay and benefits, which better accommodates the intermittent leave or 

reduced schedule. 

 

Leave for childbirth, adoption or foster care may be taken intermittently or on a reduced leave 

schedule only if the employee’s Department Head agrees to the proposed intermittent or reduced 

leave schedule. 
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Leave for the birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care must be taken 

within 12 months of the birth, adoption or placement. 

 

Notice Requirements  

If an employee knows in advance that he or she will be taking leave because of birth, adoption or 

placement of a foster child, or because of planned medical treatment for the employee or a covered 

family member, the employee must notify his or her Department Head in writing using a “Request 

for Family/Medical Leave” form at least 30 days in advance.  If circumstances require that the 

leave begin in less than 30 days, the employee must notify the Department Head as soon as is 

practicable. 

 

When the need for leave is foreseeable based on planned medical treatment for the employee or a 

covered family member, the County expects the employee to consult with his or her Department 

Head and to make a reasonable effort to schedule the treatment so as not to unduly disrupt County 

operations. 

 

The employee must provide a written request for leave and sufficient medical certification to the 

Auditor’s Office within 15 calendar days from the date of the employee’s absence. Iowa County 

reserves the right to request re-certification in accordance with federal law. 

 

The annual FMLA allowance will run concurrent with any Workers’ Compensation leave.  

 

Insurance benefits will be maintained for up to 12 weeks during an employee’s FMLA leave under 

the same conditions as if the employee continued to work. The employee must continue to pay his 

or her portion of the insurance premiums. The employee must make arrangements for payment of 

these premiums in a timely manner. If the leave extends for more than 12 weeks, the employee 

will become responsible for payment of the entire health insurance premium to maintain coverage.  

 

When an employee returns from FMLA leave, the employee will be reinstated to the same or 

equivalent job with the same pay, benefits, and terms and conditions of employment. If the 

employee does not return to work following FMLA leave, the employee may be required to 

reimburse the county for his or her share of health insurance premiums paid on the employee’s 

behalf. 

 

An employee will be required to present a certificate from his or her physician releasing the 

employee to full duty before returning to work. 

 

If an employee fails to return to work on the date he or she is released to full duty, Iowa County 

assumes that the employee has resigned. 
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Employees will be required to use all sources of paid leave concurrently with Family Medical 

Leave. Seniority, sick leave, vacation and personal days will accrue only during periods of paid 

leave. 

 

Service Members Family Medical Leave Policy 

FMLA for Military Families - The FMLA was recently amended to include coverage for eligible 

employees to care for qualifying service members. Eligible employees may take 26 workweeks of 

leave during a single 12 month period to care for a covered service member with a serious injury 

or illness who is the spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin to the employee (Military 

Caregiver Leave). The second type of leave available to certain military families is known as 

Exigency Leave and entitles eligible employees to up to 12 weeks of leave because of “any 

qualifying exigency” arising out of the fact that a qualifying family member is on active duty in a 

foreign country or has been notified of an impending call to active duty status in a foreign country.  

For purposes of this policy, adult children are qualifying family members. 

 

Unless otherwise stated in this provision, the FMLA policy described above in Section 7.11 

applies.   

 

Paid leave must be extinguished first before unpaid military family FMLA leave is taken.  Both 

types of military family FMLA leave are subject to certification or other verification requirements.  

Where an employee fails to timely comply with any such requirements, or where this process 

establishes time off and absences from work are not covered by FMLA, the FMLA leave may be 

delayed or denied and any absences and time off may be considered unexcused absences subjecting 

the employee to disciplinary action, up to and including termination of employment. 

 

Unpaid Leave Of Absence 

It is the policy of Iowa County to grant unpaid leaves of absence to its employees when the requests 

are compatible with a department's operational needs and scheduling requirements. Employees 

may request an unpaid leave of absence for public service leave, extenuating medical 

circumstances or unpaid bereavement leave. Orientation employees may request an unpaid leave 

of absence for previously scheduled commitments and extenuating medical circumstances. 

 

An employee desiring an unpaid leave of absence shall make a written request to his/her 

Department Head setting forth the reason(s) for the request and the duration of the requested leave. 

 

A request for an unpaid leave of 30 days or less will be approved or disapproved promptly by the 

department head. 

 

A request for an unpaid leave of more than 30 days will be forwarded with a recommendation by 

the Department Head to the Human Resources designee.  The Human Resources designee will 

transmit the request with recommendations to the Board of Supervisors or appropriate governing 
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board for a final decision.  In no event shall unpaid leave, under the provision of this policy, be 

approved for more than six months by the Board of Supervisors. 

 

Upon return from an unpaid leave of absence, Iowa County will attempt to place the employee in 

his/her former position at the salary and step occupied at the time such leave began; provided 

however, that the employee is able to perform the essential functions of his/her position.  In the 

event the former position is not available, or the employee is not able to perform the essential 

functions of his/her position, Iowa County will attempt to place the employee in another position 

consistent with qualifications, ability, and staffing requirements. At no time will employees 

utilizing this policy be guaranteed a position upon return from an unpaid leave of absence. 

 

An employee who fails to return from an unpaid leave of absence on the date specified in the 

request shall be considered to have resigned his/her position, unless a written request for an 

extension has been submitted by the employee, recommended by the Department Head, and 

approved by the Board of Supervisors or appropriate governing board. 

 

While on an unpaid leave of absence, an employee shall not accrue sick leave or vacation benefits. 

Nor shall time spent on an unpaid leave of absence be considered time worked for the purpose of 

receiving an in-grade wage increment.  The employee must pay his/her own group health and life 

insurance premiums for that portion of an unpaid leave of absence in excess of  30 days unless on 

Family Medical Leave. The Human Resources designee will notify the employee of this 

requirement. 

 

In considering an employee's request for an unpaid leave of absence, the Department Head shall 

require the employee to use available vacation and/or compensatory time accruals prior to being 

placed on leave without pay.   

 

Public Service Leave 

A regular County employee who is elected to a municipal, county, state or federal office shall be 

entitled to an unpaid leave of absence pursuant to the Code of Iowa. 

 

An employee choosing to run for public office shall notify the appropriate Department Head of 

such intent at least 30 days prior to the primary or general election.  At this time, the employee 

shall indicate whether, if elected, an unpaid leave of absence will be necessary. 

 

An employee seeking public office is prohibited from campaigning in any manner during work 

hours.  Failure to observe this condition may result in disciplinary action, up to and including 

dismissal. 
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Donated Leave for Catastrophic Illness of Employees or their Immediate Family Members 

 

Eligibility 

Employees are eligible to receive donated leave hours for a catastrophic illness. Employees may 

also donate accrued vacation hours to another County employee. 

 

Definitions 

A. “Catastrophic Illness” means a physical or mental illness or injury, as certified by a provider 

resulting in the inability of the employee or immediate family member to work for more than 30 

work days on a consecutive or intermittent basis. 

 

B. “Donated Leave” means vacation time off (hours) donated to employees. Recipients will not 

accrue vacation, sick leave or any other paid leaves based on donated leave hours. Donated leave 

is not considered to be pay the employee earned through the performance of service. 

 

C. “Employee” means a full-time or part-time employee who is eligible to accrue vacation. 

“Employee” also means the employee’s designee. 

 

D. “Employer” means Iowa County, Iowa. 

 

E. “Provider” means a person licensed to practice medicine and/or surgery. Eligible providers 

who may complete the donated leave for catastrophic illness applications are Medical Doctor 

(MD), Doctor of Osteopathy (DO), Physician Assistant (PA), Advanced Registered Nurse 

Practitioner (ARNP) and Psychiatrist only. Those not considered providers for this purpose are 

podiatrists, chiropractors, physical therapists, nurses, dentists, optometrists, acupuncturists, 

pharmacists, psychologist or social worker and other licensed health professionals exclusively 

engaged in the practice of their respective professions. 

 

F. “Immediate Family Member” means the employee’s spouse, parent, or child as defined in the 

Family and Medical Leave Act Policy. 

 

Eligibility Requirements for Employee Recipients of Donated Leave 

 

A. In order to receive donated leave for a catastrophic illness, an employee must have a 

catastrophic illness, as defined above. 

 

B. The employee must: 

 

1. have exhausted all paid time off; 

2. not supplement workers’ compensation to the extent that it exceeds more than 100 percent 

of the employee's pay for his or her regularly scheduled work hours on a pay period-by-pay 

period basis; 
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3. not receive long-term disability (LTD) benefits; 

4. be approved for and using or have exhausted Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave 

hours if eligible; and 

5. be on approved leave without pay for medical reasons during any hours for which he or she 

will receive donated leave. 

 

C. If an employee applies for and is approved to receive LTD benefits, he or she may continue to 

receive donated leave contributions for up to one year on an intermittent or continuous basis, or 

the long-term disability benefit effective date, whichever comes first. 

 

Eligibility Requirements for Immediate Family Member Donated Leave 

 

A. In order to receive donated leave for the catastrophic illness of an immediate family member 

the immediate family member must have a catastrophic illness as defined in II-A above. 

 

B. The employee must: 

 

1. have exhausted all paid time off for which eligible; 

2. be approved for and using or have exhausted Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave 

hours if eligible; and 

3. be on approved leave without pay for the medical reasons of an immediate family member 

during any hours for which he or she will receive donated leave. 

 

Certification Requirements 

 

A. The employee must submit a “Donated Leave for Catastrophic Illness Application” or 

“Donated Leave for Catastrophic Illness Immediate Family Member Application” form 

completed by a provider. 

 

B. The provider’s statement on the Donated Leave for Catastrophic Illness Application form is 

the basis for determining if an employee or family member meets the requirements of the 

catastrophic illness definition. County Human Resources personnel will determine if the 

employee meets the remaining eligibility requirements in Part III-B for employee or Part IV-B 

for immediate family member. 

 

C. The County may seek second opinions or updates from providers regarding the status of an 

employee's illness or injury. If the employee is receiving FMLA leave, the second opinion must 

be obtained from a provider who is not employed by the County. 
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Administration of Donated Leave Under this Policy 

 

A. Hours shall be donated in whole-hour increment. However, donations may be credited to the 

recipient in other than whole hour increments. All of the recipient’s accrued time off must be 

used before donations will be credited to the recipient for an employee’s own illness or all of the 

recipient’s accrued time for which he or she is eligible must be used before donations will be 

credited to the recipient for the illness of an immediate family member. Hours will be credited in 

increments not to exceed the employee’s regularly scheduled work hours on a pay period-by-pay 

period basis. Recipients will not accrue paid time off from donated leave hours. 

 

B. Approval for use of donated leave shall be for a period not to exceed one year either on an 

intermittent or continuous basis for each occurrence. 

 

1. An occurrence is considered a period of incapacity (of the employee or an immediate 

family member) from an illness or injury. 

2. An occurrence is not to exceed a period of one year from the date the patient was deemed 

unable to work as notated by the provider on the application forms. 

3. Donated leave can only be used one time (for up to one year) per diagnosis. 

 

For example: An employee is diagnosed with liver cancer. The donated leave may be used for a 

period of one year, either continuously or intermittently. If liver cancer comes back after that 

one year, it is still considered the same occurrence. If a different type of cancer is identified, it 

would be a new occurrence since it is a different type of cancer. 

 

C. Donated leave shall be irrevocable after it is credited to the recipient. Donated leave hours not 

credited to the recipient will not be deducted from the donor’s vacation balance. 

 

D. Donations will not be applied retroactively. Donations shall be credited on a first-in/first-out 

basis according to the submitted date. 

 

E. Donated leave for catastrophic illness will not restrict the right to terminate probationary 

employees. 

 

F. The pay increase eligibility date will be extended by the amount of time the employee 

received 

donated leave if the leave is 30 days or longer. 

 

G. Health, dental, vision and any voluntary benefit premiums; pre-tax; deferred compensation; 

flexible spending accounts (FSA); and tax-sheltered annuities premiums will continue to deduct 

from the Catastrophic Leave Donation if FMLA eligible. If the employee doesn’t receive enough 

donations to cover all benefits, the remaining owed will be collected in arrears. 
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H. Employees may choose to continue or terminate voluntary insurance. Mandatory deductions 

are taken first, and then optional deductions as funds are available and as authorized by the 

employee. Optional deductions will continue as long as the employee has sufficient earnings to 

cover the dollar amount certified to the employer after deductions for social security, federal 

taxes, state taxes, retirement, garnishments/wage assignments, health, dental, vision and 

voluntary benefit premiums, and deductions for flexible spending accounts. 

 

I. Contributions to the employee’s dependent care account will be allowed during a period of 

leave without pay. Claims will not be paid for dependent care while an employee is on leave 

without pay, unless the employee is not capable of self-care. 

 

When FMLA leave and donated leave for a catastrophic illness are used concurrently, the 

County is obligated to pay its share of health, dental and vision insurance. Once FMLA is 

exhausted the employee is no longer eligible for the County share and will receive a COBRA 

application. COBRA premiums will not be deducted from catastrophic illness payments. The 

employee will pay COBRA insurance premiums directly to the insurance carriers. The County 

also continues to maintain an employee's basic life, short-term and long-term disability 

insurances during periods of medical leave for an employee’s illness. 

 

Leave without pay provisions shall apply to the following: Employees are not eligible for holiday 

pay; sick leave accrual; vacation accrual; shift differential pay and longevity pay. In addition, 

employees receiving donated leave for catastrophic illness for themselves or an immediate 

family member will not be eligible for special or premium pays they may have received 

associated with their job duties. 

 

J. An employee may terminate receiving donated leave contributions at any time. 

 

K. Donated leave hours are not tax-deductible. 

 

 


