IOWA COUNTY ORDINANCE NO. 38

AN ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING THE ELECTION PRECINCTS IN ALL AREAS OF IOWA COUNTY, IOWA.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF IOWA COUNTY, IOWA:

SECTION 1 -- PURPOSE

The purpose of this ordinance is to establish voting precincts for Iowa County, Iowa.

SECTION 2 – <u>DEFINITIONS</u>

For use in this ordinance, the following terms or words shall be interpreted or defined as follows:

- A. "Voting Precinct" or "Precinct" shall mean a county or municipal subdivision for casting and counting votes in elections.
- B. "Township" shall mean a civil and political subdivision of the county, six miles on each side.
- C. "Township Officials" or "Township Officers" shall mean a board of officers to whom the affairs of a township are entrusted.

SECTION 3 – GENERAL PROVISIONS

The boundaries of all precincts to be used for all elections in Iowa County, Iowa, as established and defined as set forth hereinafter:

HONEY CREEK – MARENGO PRECINCT – includes all of Honey Creek and Marengo Townships except census tract 960200, Block 4117 outside of the City of Marengo. This does not include the City of Marengo. Voting in Marengo.

MARENGO CITY PRECINCT – includes only the City of Marengo. Voting in Marengo.

WASHINGTON – HILTON PRECINCT – includes all of Washington and Hilton Townships including census tract 960200, Block 4117 outside of the City of Marengo. This does not include the City of Williamsburg and the City of Marengo. Voting in Conroy.

LENOX – IOWA PRECINCT – includes all of Lenox and Iowa Townships. Voting in Middle Amana.

HARTFORD I – SUMNER PRECINCT – includes that part of Hartford Township lying East of CC Ave. from 160th Street to 170th Street and that portion East of D

Ave. from 170th Street to 220th Street. Also included is the City of Ladora and all of Sumner Township. Voting in Ladora.

HARTFORD II – LINCOLN PRECINCT – includes that part of Hartford Township lying West of CC Ave. from 160th Street to 170th Street and that portion West of D Ave. from 170th Street to 220th Street. Also included is the City of Victor located in Iowa County and all of Lincoln Township. Voting in Victor.

PILOT – YORK – TROY PRECINCT – includes all of Pilot, York, and Troy Townships. The City of Williamsburg is not included. Voting in Williamsburg.

WILLIAMSBURG CITY PRECINCT – includes only the City of Williamsburg. Voting in Williamsburg.

DAYTON – ENGLISH I PRECINCT – includes all of Dayton Township and the City of Millersburg and that portion of English Township lying North of 310th Street and West of G Avenue. Voting in Millersburg.

ENGLISH II PRECINCT – includes the City of North English located in Iowa County and that portion of English Township lying South of 310th Street and East of G Avenue. Voting in North English.

FILLMORE – GREENE PRECINCT – includes all of Fillmore and Greene Townships, including the City of Parnell. Voting in Parnell.

SECTION 4 – REPEALER

This ordinance repeals the prior County Ordinance No. 17 on Election Precincts which had an effective date of October 6, 2011.

All ordinances or parts of ordinances in conflict with the provisions of this ordinance are hereby repealed.

SECTION 5 – <u>SEVERABILITY CLAUSE</u>

If any section, provision, or part of this ordinance shall be adjudged invalid or unconstitutional, such adjudication shall not affect the validity of the ordinance as a whole or any section, provision or part thereof not adjudged invalid or unconstitutional.

SECTION 6 – EFFECTIVE DATE

This ordinance shall be effective after its final passage, approval, and publication as provided by law.

Effective Date: March 16, 2022